Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 Timby Awards



The Timby Awards were established in 2015 as the Northwood University Timberwolves Student-Athlete Awards Night. The Timby's are designed to celebrate the previous athletic year by recognizing seniors, as well as presenting multiple individual and team awards.

This year's event will take place WEDNESDAY, APRIL 24 in Riepma Arena at 8 p.m. 

If you are unable to make it, CLICK HERE to watch.

This event is our way of celebrating the athletic year by recognizing all our seniors, as well as presenting several other awards.

Here are the 2019 nominees:

Previous Winners

2014-15: Brianna Blumenherst, Golf

2015-16: Julie Shields, Soccer

2016-17: Jessica Kalbfleisch, Soccer

2017-18: Grace German, Basketball

Zoe Baglien (Cross Country/Track), Grace German (Basketball), Tetyana Paych (Tennis), Taylor Harding (Golf)

Women's GoMAD Award


Previous Winners

2014-15: Jake Riepma, Football

2015-16: Austin Woody, Tennis

2016-17: Matt Garland, Golf

2017-18: James Felton, Track & Field

Teddy Stacey (Soccer), David Riser (Football), David Reinauer (Tennis), Zach Allread (Basketball)

Men's GoMAD Award


Previous Winners

2014-15: Maddy Seeley, Basketball

2015-16: Carol Arnez-Mercado, Tennis

2016-17: Torriya Gray-Baker, Softball

2017-18: Tara Gross, Softball

Bridget Adams (Soccer), Ellie Taylor (Women's Basketball), Jetaeia Lewis (Track & Field), Ines Dorado (Golf)

Women's Newcomer of the Year


Previous Winners

2014-15: Maurice Jones, Basketball

2015-16: Kory Roberts, Golf

2016-17: Tyler Jandron/David Vinsky, Baseball

2017-18: Mikhail Fomenkov, Tennis/Mason Phillips, Track & Field

Cole Brooks (Baseball), Ja'Kavien Lewis (Basketball), Chase Clark (Soccer), Keenan Williamson (Football)

Men's Newcomer of the Year


Previous Winners

2017-18: Carly D’Almeida, Track & Field

Kenzie Seeley (Basketball), Heaven Powell (Track & Field), Sydni Harding (Golf), Taylor Wright (Softball)

Women's Breakthrough Award


Previous Winners

2017-18: Brady Cole, Soccer

Alec Marty (Basketball), Gary Landless (Football), Brian Patrick (Cross Country), Ivan Medvynskyi (Tennis)

Men's Breakthrough Award


Previous Winners

2014-15: Gabrielle Rivette, Basketball

2015-16: Elaina Meadows, Track/Jordyn Nurenberg, Basketball

2016-17: Jordyn Nurenberg, Basketball

2017-18: Lindsay Orwat, Basketball

Tetyana Pavych (Tennis), Tara Gross (Softball), Heaven Powell (Track & Field), Ellie Taylor (Basketball)

Women's Athlete of the Year


Previous Winners

2014-15: Mike Ankoviak, Soccer/Track & Field

2015-16: Johannes Sterobo, Soccer

2016-17: Rami Gharsalli, Track & Field

2017-18: Tyler Jandron, Baseball

Brian Patrick (Cross Country), Teddy Stacey (Soccer), Mason Phillips (Track & Field), David Vinsky (Baseball)

Men's Athlete of the Year


Previous Winners

2015-16: Zane Colestock, Tennis

2016-17: Jordan Bischel, Baseball

2017-18: Jordan Bischel, Baseball

Gregg Sauve (Softball), Michael Roberts (Cross Country/Track & Field), Dave Turner (Golf), Zane Colestock (Tennis)

Coach of the Year


Previous Winners

2014-15: Football win at Northern Michigan

2015-16: Men’s Soccer win at SVSU to win GLIAC Championship

2016-17: Baseball – Nick Palmer walk-off homer

2017-18: Men’s Soccer game-winning goal/victory at SVSU to win GLIAC Championship

Patrick at XC Championships, Bain No-Hitter, Track at NCAA Indoors, Women's Tennis Winning GLIAC

Moment of the Year


Previous Winners

2014-15: Volleyball

2015-16: Men’s Tennis

2016-17: Women’s Basketball

2017-18: Men’s Tennis

Women's Basketball, Women's Soccer, Men's Tennis, Women's Tennis

Team GPA Award


Previous Winners

2014-15: Men’s Soccer

2015-16: Men’s Soccer

2016-17: Baseball

2017-18: Men’s Soccer

Women's Golf, Softball, Women's Tennis, Men's Track & Field

Team of the Year